2011 Eligibility Statement

The OneGeorgia Authority eligibility regulations define “Eligible Rural Counties” as those counties directly eligible for OneGeorgia assistance that meet the definition of “a county that is located outside the boundaries of a metropolitan area with a population of 50,000 or less and with a poverty rate of 10% or greater.” “Conditionally Eligible Counties” are “those counties with a population of less than 500,000 that share a border with a directly eligible rural county.”
The status of poverty and population are determined using the most recent data and estimates from the U.S. Bureau of the Census. According to Census Bureau Director Robert Groves, the Census Bureau must release data for counties by April 1, 2011.

Each year to calculate eligibility, OneGeorgia uses the actual decennial census for poverty and the annual estimate for population. The population and poverty estimates for 2010 show that there might be counties whose eligibility will change with the release of the 2010 census data.

Therefore, until the release of the 2010 county-by-county data, OneGeorgia will continue using the current data and map for 2011 eligibility purposes. Once the 2010 census data is announced, we will prepare the new data for each county and release the new eligibility map.